cafe…[picture of blue long-necked animal]…giraffe!

Restaurant: Cafe Giraffe, 302 Little Lonsdale Street, Melbourne VIC 3000 

Food Digested: Chicken Lasagne, Vegetarian Dumplings

$$$: $20

Lily’s Rating: 8

First thing that comes to mind when I think of Cafe Giraffe: cute interior! This popular little cafe is hidden in a relatively quiet place on Little Bourke Street, and is a favourite of students and business people. The sign doesn’t even say ‘giraffe’ on it, and instead it just has a picture of a blue giraffe! And inside it’s very homey, decorated with Ikea furniture and many cute little things. And there’s a tree in the middle too! The perfect place for catching up with friends or studying (though I never do any of that anyway). It’s fairly cheap, with most of the menu being $10 for lunch and $12 for dinner (cheaper for desserts, usually $7.90). I’ve been to Cafe Giraffe about three times now, so I’ll post up some extra photos of previous visits.

Vegetarian Dumplings

Vegetarian Dumplings ($10)! Because K and I both felt like it and I don’t like meat =] They were pretty good, but I don’t think they were that special or hand-made…and it came with soba noodles a bit of light dressing and bonito flakes. It tasted very healthy and was a nice portion size for us. [but I usually eat more! hahaha.]

Chicken Lasagne

Chicken Lasagne ($10), which we ordered on a previous visit but felt like eating again because it was good! I don’t usually order lasagne at restaurants, so this would be the best I’ve had. K and I loved how there was lots of veggies in it and not just chicken mince. And the garden salad with balsamic dressing went with it very well…we pretended it was really healthy…hehe.

Now, for other things that I’ve previously tried at Cafe Giraffe…

Creamy Pumpkin, Chicken & Spinach Baked Rice

I love pumpkin! Again, this was $10. I would’ve liked more veggies and less rice, but that’s because I don’t like rice very much. This is a more unique things on the menu and definately worth a try!

Blueberry & Pear Waffles with Ice-cream

Waffles! ($8.50). One of the more expensive things on the dessert menu, which is written on a blackboard inside. It was pretty good, but of course, nothing beats Max Brenner waffles. The blueberry was really nice and went very well with it, as did the pear and ice-cream (but I LOVE blueberry and other places that have waffles don’t serve it with blueberry…) The presentation was great too~

OK that’s all for Giraffe Cafe, best ambience ever! And service was also very good. I love a place with amazing service…it makes the food taste better! I shall try more desserts next time…maybe their Passionfruit Bread and Butter Pudding…? =]

One Response

  1. Nice! The store gave me that back to kindergarten feel, their toilet doors are painted pink and blue!
    I tried their Chicken Noodle with Seasame Sauce; it was fresh, tangy and light – overall a really good summer meal.
    For dessert I shared a Passionfruit Bread and Butter Pudding with Lily, it was a really custardy with fruit loaf as the pudding. The passionfruit flavour wasn’t quite there which made its name look bad.

    Giraffe cafe is definitely recommended for small group catchups bacause the cafe is imcompetent of catering large groups.

Leave a comment